add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First ever build, lifelong dream.

byrdada
  • 72 months ago

Since I first got my Voodoo 3 when I was 11 I've wanted to build my own PC. I just never committed to spending the cash. 16 years later and now that I can afford it, I'm just gonna go for it. I have little experience building (just changing ram and video cards over the years) and somewhat working knowledge of PC hardware. I chose and ordered these parts after playing around with it for about 3 days. Probably didn't do enough research, but I had to commit or I'd never have gone through with it.

Anyways, I was going for about a $1,000 budget but ended up spending a little over that. Just looking for "most bang for buck" in terms of performance and comfort in that it can run most newer games at decently high settings. I wanted to have a lot of room for upgrading later for fun and try out this overclocking stuff. New hobby. I don't know how well I did in that respect and in comparison to experienced buyers and builders, but maybe I did O.K.? Here it is:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

Type Item Price
CPU AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor $169.99 @ Amazon
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler $29.98 @ OutletPC
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard $114.00 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $79.99 @ Newegg
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $84.99 @ Amazon
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $52.92 @ Amazon