add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

My first build, looking for opinions/changes/revisions

Dobbie1
  • 72 months ago

I have been using an HP dv7 pavilion laptop for the past four years and I want to upgrade. I have been thinking about getting a desktop for some time now, in part for games (skyrim runs very slowly on my laptop, I would also like to be able to play payday 2, TF2, wargame: red dragon and other strategy games smoothly, in high settings), as well as day to day use, browsing, nothing very demanding compared to gaming.

This is what I've come up with so far: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/tMydrH

In general does this seem reasonable? Is there anything you would change or anything that looks like it could cause major issues for me in the short or long term? Should all these components be compatible?

More specially, part picker tells me that the video card will not fit, and may require the removal of drives bays/ brackets. I have no intention of ever using more than 1 HDD and 1 SSD, with this in mind should I be good case wise?