add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

I'm a newbie. Tell me what you think about my list!

commando0427
  • 71 months ago

Hello folks, I just joined this forum today, and after a bunch of reading, I got to finish my list. It's mainly for gaming and I thought it would be a bit cheaper, but since I'm from Canada, it cost me way more than it should compared to the states. It would be better if the price could be lower, but if that's not possible while keeping the specs/low noise, then I don't mind about the price. Anyways, here is my list: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/qXqDkL and what do you think about it?

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 2 points

From the top to save money: Switch the NF F12s to noiseblocker eloops from Aquatuning, that should save you about 5 bucks a fan and not look disgusting. They also perform better than the noctuas. Specifically go for the B12-PS which is the pwm version from 500-1500rpm.

Switch the 140mm fans to either thermalright fdbs, scythe slipstreams, or noiseblocker multiframes.

Switch the Evo to a PNY XLR8 (you'll notice no real world performance difference), that will save you another 30 ish.

Switch the mobo to an Asrock Pro4 and you'll save about 40 bucks ish and will guaranteed get the same overclocks.

There is cheaper ram out there I think, look for a cheaper 2x4gb cl9 1600mhz kit if you want it should shave 10 bucks ish off the price maybe.