add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

$700 gaming pc, first build - advice appreciated

chowchowc
  • 72 months ago

Hey guys this is my first build and I'd like some feedback and tips on how I could improve!

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/KnNJmG

Some questions: 1. Is there a big difference in performance between SSD and HDD when it comes to gaming to warrant spending the extra money? 2. Is my PSU too low? I see a lot of builds that have large power margins (like 100W) and I'm curious whether that is necessary. 3. Do I need any additional CPU cooling or fans in the case?

Thanks!

Comments

• 72 months ago
  • 2 points

This is better for you. Always leave a recommended 100W because on start up parts need more than what they normally use. SSD's help you speed up programs faster and give you a really fast boot up time. You really don't need that for yours. You always need a cpu cooler or your cpu will die from the heat. Just get 1 more fan to put in the front of the case to have better airflow and cooling.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor $109.99 @ TigerDirect
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler $29.98 @ OutletPC
Motherboard Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard $87.99 @ Amazon
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $74.99 @ Micro Center
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $49.99 @ Micro Center
Video Card Asus Radeon R9 280 3GB DirectCU II Video Card $209.99 @ Newegg