add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Questions about cooling

gamer94

67 months ago

Hello, i'm quite new at custom pc building and i don't really understand cooling stuff and i have some questions regarding this. 1. Why is aftermarket cooler necessary, namely aren't e.g. intel i3, i5 and i7 default CPU coolers good enough for gaming (excluding overclocking)? 2. What's the difference between CPU cooler and GPU cooler and how and where can i buy GPU cooler? I thought it's built in GPU and i don't need to buy it separately. When i'm building my pc via pcpartpicker i can only see the slot for CPU cooler. Also, when i am trying to find GPU coolers in IT shops all i can find is CPU cooler and not GPU. 3. Isn't default GPU cooler good enough, excluding overclocking? 4. What does "including VAT" mean? It stands next to cpu and gpu i want to buy. 5. I don't want to risk anything with water coolers. Are air coolers ok? Thanks. :)

Comments

• 67 months ago
  • 2 points

1-Stock coolers are great if you're not overclocking like you said. But you might also want to pick up an aftermarket one if you value lower noise levels. Stock coolers can also be a little more nerve-wracking to install with their silly pushpin design.