add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

My first build! Please give suggestions and your opinions! Thank you!

Hardhitter
  • 71 months ago

Hi guys, I'm pretty new at building my own computer and this will be the desktop that I will build. Please look over this list and see if you have any suggestion for me. I know it says all parts are compatible, but I know this isn't 100% accurate all the time. If you see any incompatibility, please let me know! Thank you very much for helping a nooblet.

Here is the link:

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Hardhitter/saved/7dGnTW

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 2 points

Hey, I took a look and changed a few things.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/VskjBm

CPU: The processor is excellent, and should give you all of the power that you need, although I'm not entirely sure what you want to do with this build. But either way, you shouldn't be held back by it at all.

CPU Cooler: I went ahead and changed it to the Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BK, which should cool your CPU much better than the CM Hyper 212 Evo, especially if you're going to do some overclocking. (Matches the color of the new motherboard too)

Motherboard: The Sabertooth is a very nice board, but a little pricey. The Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 is an excellent motherboard as well, cheaper (though not to say worse), has two more SATA3 connectors, allows for 4-way Crossfire or SLI (though I don't recommend going that route) and allows for slightly faster memory. If price isn't a factor, and you picked the Sabertooth purely for aesthetics, that's fine too.

RAM: I left the RAM alone. "Ram is ram," as the saying goes.