add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Completely new to this, need advice

tpa777
  • 71 months ago

Hey guys, I recently decided I wanted to build my first gaming rig, as Im gonna have some extra income to spend. Problem is, I have no experience with this and have no clue whether this setup is compatible or not, or worth the price. Ideally, $920 is the most I would like to spend. If theres any problems with this, or if anyone sees any parts that I could spend less on/should switch out, the advice would be much appreciated.

Heres the parts list: https://pcpartpicker.com/user/tpa777/saved/N33mP6 Thanks

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

Hi,

The first thing I recommend is going with an Intel rather than an AMD. In my experience, they are pretty close, but to get the full potential out of most AMD cards you have to overclock. If you don't really want to overclock, I would suggest going with an i3. I use a i3 4130 in my rig, and I have a graphics card that is just a tad less dank than yours.

Second, I'm not sure about that power supply. Most cards need 30 amps on the 12 volt rail, and newegg is telling me that you only get 20 on either of the rails. I use a Corsair CS750M. It's very much overkill for my build, but you would do fine with a 500 watt corsair PSU. Some people don't like Corsair's PSUs but mine has served me just fine.

RAM is RAM, so if you can find the same size and speed for cheaper, there's a pretty low chance that it will work any worse than what you have. My RAM is a little slower, 1600, but no problems so far.

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point