add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

review my build and help me choose psu/case

sil3nt_7rill
  • 71 months ago

looking to build my first pc in the near future and i'm new to this so all help is appreciated

this is what i came up with so far

pcpartpicker (idk how to post the build in here)

but i have no idea how to estimate the wattage needed and idk much about cases either

so give me some pro tips/suggestions/anything i can do to cut down the price without sacrificing too much performance

*i don't plan on overclocking

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

Looks pretty great :D

The site provides a psu estimate, it's on the right hand side just above the parts cost, yours says 438w, and you usually want to add 100-200w to that depending on expansion/overclocking plans etc. Prolly something around 550w would be my aim.

As you're not ocing you can drop the cpu cooler, you get one in the box that is perfectly fine at stock speeds.

You can save almost $20 with a different ssd, pny xlr8 is a pretty good spec match iirc.

Seasonic are my goto psu brand/manufacturer, they're usually of a better quality, and I tend to go for a gold rated unit whenever possible, costs more upfront but you save back the upgrade cost via a cheaper electricity bill in a year or 2 then it's all money in your pocket :D

Optical drives are usually available for $15 with a mir/on sale etc

You prolly don't need such low latency ram, tho savings aren't huge I guess...

Define r4 is one of my favourite cases, shame it's not on sale atm, it's been as low as $80-90 iirc, tho that might be without a window.