add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
turnipstar
  • 71 months ago

Hi all,

First ever build, I would say I'm fairly new to building PC's so go easy on me.

Looking to build a sub £500 rig, mainly gaming (CS:GO,Minecraft,BF4,Skyrim etc) on decent settings with mods. I will more than likely be delving into OCing in the future. I look more for performance/price ratio than just pure performance, not made of money unfortunately lol

Here's the list http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/user/turnipstar/saved/cW7p99

Just a few side notes, I have a custom case already, 1tb HD too. Not the most knowledgeable when it comes to certain aspects of PC parts so I kind of put this together reading reviews, looking at other people rigs etc. Please let me know if there is anything you would swap out etc I would of preferred an i5 CPU but just to far out the budget and for a gaming rig I assumed I would be better off putting more money into the GPU? Also gone a bit overboard on the PSU but I had in mind possible taking advantage of crossfire in the future when money became available for another GPU so please let me know if this is a good or bad idea

Thank you kindly in advance

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

Not too keen on that SSD. If it were cheaper, perhaps, but they have gone downhill recently. Perhaps this one instead.

The Crossfire idea..I probably wouldn't do that myself. Mainly because that 280 card will last quite a while at 1080p, so there wouldn't be any need. Plus I'm not a fan of the extra power consumption/heat. Here's an alternative PSU, should you decide against it.

• 71 months ago