add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Just ordered this $2500 build. Give me your thoughts.

bloomchild
  • 71 months ago

Parts List

This is my first build. I feel like I did a decent job with my budget. I'll be showing the completed build sometime next week.

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

If I'm being honest about it here's my thoughts:

Would not have chosen that motherboard, you could have gotten an equally good motherboard for cheaper and bought a separate wifi card if you needed it.

2400mhz memory and 16gb? Are you running a lot of vms? Otherwise kinda excessive

Would not have gone with a 780TI personally. You could have got nearly 2 290s for that budget that would handily outperform the 780TI.

Besides that it looks pretty gravy to me.

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

Thank you for your honest critiques.

Honestly I struggled with the GPU decision. I researched the 1 card vs 2 argument. The general consensus was that one higher end card is better and easier to manage than two. Plus, I plan on buying another 780Ti next month to SLI (speaking of which, do you think I will need to upgrade the PSU for that?)

As far as the memory goes, the budget was there (and it was money I couldn't use for anything else) so I figured why not?

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point

Then I'd certainly buy 2 290x or 2 290 over 2 780TIs. A 1000w psu would be fine for any of those options in dual card.

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point