add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First build, will this all work together?

ArchiPC27
  • 71 months ago

I am building a pc from the ground up and I have zero experience doing so. The pc will be used primarily for 3d modeling/rendering, photoshop work and graphics type work (autocad). I have a friend who is really good with computers who is my backup should i run into issues during my build. My questions are:

1. Will these components work together?
  2. Is there any particular piece of the selected hardware that I can downsize or go cheaper on with out a major impact on performance for my needs?
  3. I was planning on using an old optical drive and also adding an old hard drive as a backup/extra storage. They are from an old Dell desktop that ran windows vista. Will they work with the new build?
  4. I am installing windows 7 because I have Adobe Creative suite 3 and have read that it does not work well with windows 8. Will it work with the new hardware? Or should I just get windows 8? I would rather not have to purchase the newer adobe software considering how expensive it is and my current older version CS3 still suits my needs just fine.
  5. Am i forgetting any crucial parts?

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/LgHyt6 Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/LgHyt6/by_merchant/