add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Feedback and advice on my first gaming PC build.

noxater
  • 70 months ago

Hello!I'm totally new to this so please if you could be as clear as possible when it comes to components because there is a good chance I will have no idea what you're talking about :D

I have decided to go ahead and assemble my first ever gaming PC. After researching parts and components I have decided to go with these:

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/f8qTpg

From what I have gathered, these components are all compatible with each other, but I decided to get a second opinion from this wonderful community before I purchase any parts, (except for the case - that has already been bought) in case there are some parts I could change for increased performance etc.

I have an optical drive at home that I can use, so I didn't include it in the list.

The reason I went with a 850w Corsair PSU is because somewhere down the line I'd like to add another GTX780 in SLI.

Any advice and feedback is most welcome. Thank you in advance!

Nox

Comments

• 70 months ago
  • 2 points

A few suggestions:

There is cheaper ram out there, look into finding a cheaper kit. Also since this is a gaming build, I'd stick with 8gb, as 16gb will not help you.

Switch the 780 for a 290, you get better performance and more ram for less money. Look into the powercolor pcs+, xfx double dissipation, and sapphire tri-x.