add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Windows 7 or Windows 8.1?

P47Fighter
  • 70 months ago

Hello, I'm new into building pcs, i just made one and everything boots up fine, the only thing left is either choosing windows 8.1 or windows 7, Im new to windows too, i have always used mac, but i have grown tired of buying a new one when it starts to get obsolete, so i decided to build my own, and i have asked for some opinions and some say windows 8 is better and others say windows 7 in way better, and others say windows 8 is only good if you are planing on having a touch screen. i would like to hear your thoughts on this.

Thank you.

Comments

• 70 months ago
  • 2 points

You can decide for yourself. With Windows 7, you can try it for free 120 days. Instructions available at: How-To Geek. You can download the Windows 7 iso file to create a DVD disc from a number of websites. e.g. mKn.Creations

• 70 months ago
  • 1 point

I recommend this as well

• 70 months ago
  • 2 points

I would definitely go with Windows 8.1 since you're new to Windows. Most people who dislike 8.1 dislike it because it's so radically different from Windows 7. Once you get used to it I think it's faster and more enjoyable to use. But its hard for some people to change especially for something as basic as an OS from an end user perspective.

• 70 months ago
  • 1 point

Can you keep your Mac for non-gaming? They last a lot longer than Windows laptops if you don't game on them. Windows 8.1 is tolerable if you only use your rig for gaming and DirectX 11.2 will be Windows 8.1-only.