add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First build (£700 budget) - any advice most welcome

eduk
  • 70 months ago

Ok I've put together a first pass build and I was really hoping for some advice from the experienced members on the forum. I've never done a build before so my knowledge is close to zero :) I have roughly £700 to spend, less is obviously better but a little more is fine if justified.

CPU - i5 4690k - I don't actually intend to overclock right now (although it's always nice to have the option). It just seems that the price difference of about 20 quid means it doesn't really make sense to get a i5 4670 instead?

GPU - GTX 760 - Just seems like great value. I do want to play the latest games on decent settings at high res but I'm not too concerned about bragging rights. I'm assuming that the GTX 760 outstrips anything the xbone or ps4 could manage? (which I guess is roughly my benchmark) The other card I was considering is the R9 280. Seems similar to the 760 but I'm no expert.

Case - Zalman Z11 Plus ATX Mid Tower - I really know nothing about cases. This seemed a good one for the price based on Amazon reviews. I don't need much from the case. So long as everything fits inside and the cooling is ok that seems the most important. I don't care less about looks :)

MOBO - ASRock Z97 PRO3 ATX LGA1150 - Now I'm really out of my depth :) I picked this one because it seemed compatible and cheap but not too cheap, that's about as far as my 'knowledge' goes.