add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

$600 Budget first time build, need advice

brandonthompson
  • 71 months ago

This will be my first build. I'm planning on getting into gaming, not sure how heavily yet (pretty sure I don't want to overclock). Any advice is welcome, but I especially would like advice on the MoBo, RAM, and video card I've chosen or any alternatives as I don't know first hand how any of these things interact with games. I'm also a college student so I should be getting windows 8 for free or close to it. Thanks.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i3-4150 3.5GHz Dual-Core Processor $117.00 @ Newegg
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B85M-D2V Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $49.79 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $76.50 @ Newegg
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $80.99 @ NCIX US
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $57.98 @ OutletPC
Video Card MSI Radeon R9 270 2GB TWIN FROZR Video Card $139.99 @ Newegg
Case Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case $39.99 @ Newegg
Power Supply Corsair Builder 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply $39.99 @ Newegg
Optical Drive Samsung SH-224DB/BEBE DVD/CD Writer $14.98 @ OutletPC
Total
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available $617.21
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-08-04 19:24 EDT-0400

Comments

• 71 months ago
  • 1 point