add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

update bios for 4690k cpu

fazer1
  • 69 months ago

ok so i've bought the Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5 Intel Z97 ATX Motherboard mainly as it suits my needs and cause it came with a free keyboard aha, but i intend to use intels i5 4690k devils canyon. just wondering how i can go about updating the bios to current compatible version. would the cpu get me to the correct screens. I would appreciate a as full walkthrough if anyone has done it as i am a relative newbie. thanks callum

Comments

• 69 months ago
  • 1 point

Check the box markings - sometimes the BIOS version is marked. It would probably be around the UPC code/serial number area. You need BIOS F5. It was released on May 30th so there's probably a 50/50 chance you have F5.

If it's not marked, might as well try the CPU. Install it as normal and see what happens. If it does POST and start up, you might not need to do anything more. If you do want to update the BIOS and you can get into the OS you can update the BIOS using Gigabyte's @BIOS utility. If you can't get into the OS, download the latest BIOS and put it on the hard drive or a USB key. Press the "End" key during startup to get into Q-Flash and follow the onscreen instructions.

Now if it doesn't POST, either nothing happens at all or you get something about a bad/invalid/unrecognized CPU microcode, you're in trouble. Try to get into Q-Flash if possible - otherwise you will need a compatible CPU installed to update the BIOS. Looks like the cheapest one you can get which will boot on the older F3 BIOS is the Celeron G1840 at $42.99: