add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

New to water cooling! NEED HELP!

optimusgaming

64 months ago

Okay im new to water cooling and im a bit confused about how often if at all i will have to change the coolant in this water cooling. Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler

Would like to overclock my Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core to 4-4.2 ghz...

Comments

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

An H100i I believe has a lifespan of 3 years. Its an AIO (All in one) liquid cooler that requires no maintenance. I have a custom loop using Ek Pastel coolant that the shelf life is 3 years. If I were to use distilled water in a custom loop with biocide or silver coil you are recommended to flush and refill every Year or 6 months depending on the clarity of the water.

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

So the H100i doesnt require any maintenance, will it keep it cool enough to overclock to 4 ghz?

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

Absolutely. The temps are subjective to the volts applied to your overclock. 1.2v for 4.2ghz etc. etc. You will need more volts depending on the quality of your chip. I was using the H100i to cool my 4770k (Before De-lid) at 4.5ghz using 1.275v and temps at 100% load after 15min was 87c.

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

Not an especial lot of maintenance. Do however keep the assembly dust free.

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

that is to be expected, im even making a little stand for my computer that will make sure it is 5ft in the air

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

Certainly, many would be startled by what I've found in cases. Kudos on the high rise computing.

• 63 months ago