add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Hefty Gaming build, need input

grizzlyatoms

63 months ago

Hey there, i've been building my own computers for 14 years now and glad to see this kind of website. Its pretty awesome actually. Anyway, i'd like to get some opinions on the parts ive chosen. I only build every 3 to 4 years so i need this to last. I plan to build it by Chirstmas this year (2014)

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/grizzlyatoms/saved/8V6NnQ

Motherboard- Asus Rampage 5 Extreme CPU- Intel I7-5930k Ram- Crucial DDR4-2400 32gigs CPU Cooler- Kraken X61 Watercooler Storage- Samsung 840 500g SSD x2 GPU- GTX 780-TI 3gb x2 (i already bought 1 right before they were discontinued :( so i'll buy the 2nd before they disappear.) Case- NZXT Phantom 820 PSU- Corsair 1200w modular BLU-Ray burner x2 Windows 8 :( Typical other stuff, fans, lights I already run 3 asus 27" monitors so im good there.

Anyway, it is a pricey build, but i'm looking for ultra high performance. As for games, i want to max out on anything i play, but in all honesty, the reason for such high end is for Minecraft. I play modded MC with over 200 mods and i can't handle it anymore. Its too demanding for my current machine. I also run 128x textures which definitely doesn't help. Things are going to get worse as well as every day new mods are coming out and old ones getting even better. I have struggled with lag in MC for over 2 years now and wish to finally put it aside...