add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First build Looking for opinions

Tyverus

62 months ago

The ever important list.

Thanks for checking it out, now I'll first start off with my goals/about me then further down go into my thoughts behind each part choice. I'll gladly accept any advice and may question further since this is my first build and need all the information i can get.

About me and my goals: I am currently a college student working from a laptop for limited gaming, and schoolwork but looking to begin streaming and more gaming as soon as some scholarships come in so my budget is around $1200. I'm looking to play on the new set up games such as league of legends, planetside 2, battlefield, and more with reasonable quality/fps while still maintaining a stream. I also want this thing to last awhile so i'm not looking to replace any parts within a year or so of getting it all together. Also not looking to overclock right now or in the foreseeable future since i dont know the details about it besides what i've read, dont know where i'm really starting from so how can i know how much higher i want to go? Maybe in another build says i.

CPU: I've done tons of research, heard many opinions and i believe the $80 more for the i7 is worth it for the longevity, headroom, and peace of mind for my goals as i've heard people say they stream fine with i5's but others calling quality/fps and the like into question. My only concern now is about bottlenecking on the gpu but currently believe i have enough put into the gpu to satisfy both parties.