add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Calling all you builder pros to enlighten me

Sybersapien

63 months ago

Hey guys! Apparently, I'm new to custom building, so here I am attempting to absorb knowledge from you more experienced folks in order to optimize my first build while it's still at its preliminary stage. Let me tell you a bit about my experience with my current system....In one word. It's "Pitiful." Many years ago, I bought a cheap eMachines computer from Best Buy. For about the following decade, I've stuck around devoted to that toaster since I only needed one for basic needs such as word processing and online research. Then, a friend of mine happened to recruit me to play WoW with him. I didn't feel compelled to start forking cash on a gaming PC, but I started playing the game anyway since it didn't look too intense for my PC. Needless to say, I couldn't even walk in the cities to sell my looted crap in the auction house because the frame-rate was so choppy, so imagine the fact that I eventually became a "hardcore raider" using that same system. Laughable, right? Fast forward to now, and many MMOs and RPGs later that had to endure lagging with my sloth of a computer, I finally decided to start investing in a build that can properly run games above the lowest possible settings...I will cry if I can finally play anything on Ultra. The current game I intend to play for a while is Path of Exile, which looks excellent at high settings, based on the streaming videos I've seen of it. With my current computer, I had to go into the production_config.ini folder and change the text