add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First Build, looking for feedback on parts please, especially whether to go AMD or not.

Bmtlegend

62 months ago

Hello there,

This is my first build. Basically forever I've been forced to settle with the worst end of the spectrum when it comes to computers, and being a gamer, you can probably understand why i would want to build my own.

I've been researching parts for a few weeks now, and put together this list: http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/user/Bmtlegend/saved/WRjJ7P

I can't help but think that i could have done better with the parts I've picked, but i don't know which parts are good, which brands are reliable (I have a bit of an idea) or whether there are any better options ect, so i thought i'd post here to see if anyone can help and give advice on any better parts to use.

Another issue i have (as with anyone building their own PC for the first time) is whether to go AMD or Intel...the age old dispute. My friend did the same thing and posted his part list on here a few days ago. He went with AMD, and his computer has better specs than mine, and costs about £100 less thanks to the AMD CPU (and his GPU, which i also can't help but think mine is a bit overkill). So, which would you recommend for my price range?

Speaking of price range, the £756 this one costs is pretty much as far as i can get at the moment, which is another reason i'm posting here.

Any help given would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance. =]

Brad.