add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Gaming Desktop, $1000-$1500 CAD

IcedT3023

62 months ago

This is my first time looking at building my own machine, so I'm still trying to figure everything out here, and any comments are greatly appreciated. I'm primarily going to be using this for gaming and streaming video, and I want to be able to play everything on the highest settings (I've been dealing with having to set all my games to the lowest settings on my 5-year-old Dell, and I'm getting really sick of that). Budget is up to $1500, but I'd prefer to stay closer to $1000 CAD.

Here's what I've got so far: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/IcedT3023/saved/7bzH99

Given that I don't really know what I'm doing, I have no idea if this is overkill or not. I don't know enough to be willing to mess with overclocking, so if you guys could make some suggestions on how I could make this a bit more reasonable, I'd really appreciate it. I already have a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.

Thanks!

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 2 points
  • When not overclocking you are fine with the included Intel cooler
  • Added better motherboard, H97 when not overclocking
  • You don't need a case that big, suggested smaller one
  • 750W PSU overkill, 550W is plenty
  • That wireless adaptor is really overpriced, changed to a more reasonable one
  • Changed memory, SSD and optical drive to cheaper equivalents

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor $204.95 @ Vuugo