add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Opinions on an ~$2000 build?

jcsnider

62 months ago

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to building custom rigs. I have worked on computer repair and swapping parts on home computers for years, but I have always used what I have fixed and never picked parts and build a machine for myself. I've done a little research but before I buy these parts next month I would love some input from you all.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/CfrGHx

For now I want to get into casual gaming - Far Cry 4, Watch Dogs, etc running on max settings with on a 1920 by 1080 display without lag.

Later on I want to experience with overclocking and SLI. I will eventually get another GTX980.

When not gaming I will probably have 1-2 virtual machines running in the background for work purposes which is why I went with the full 16GB of ram.

I wanted to avoid water cooling which made the Noctua NH-D14 look really appealing. I checked to make sure it would be compatible with my motherboard, ram, and case.

I already have the SSD and HD lying around or I woulda chose different models.

Any thoughts? Would all of this work? I want to keep the power but what items would you choose differently?

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/CfrGHx

Thanks! JC

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 2 points

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/bn7wjX It has a six core i7 with a massive cpu cooler and 16gb of ddr4 ram and a 1000 watt psu so you can sli many cards as you want in the future

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point