add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First time builder - mid range gaming/editing mITX

clatterslikeworry

62 months ago

Hi all – have been surviving on a five year old Dell XPS1530 laptop for a while now and it's well past time for an upgrade. I've never built a PC before but after doing some research it seems like it's the most cost-effective way to meet all my requirements, which are:

• Able to play modern games at mid-range settings at 1080p
  • Able to do occasional photo editing
  • Small form factor
  • Around or under $1000

I've put together the following:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor $219.00 @ Centre Com
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/AC Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard $125.00 @ CPL Online
Memory G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $97.00 @ IJK
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $85.00 @ IJK
Video Card Galaxy GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card $229.00 @ CPL Online
Case Cooler Master Elite 130 Mini ITX Tower Case $52.00 @ CPL Online
Power Supply Corsair CX 430W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply $69.00 @ CPL Online
Optical Drive LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer $19.00 @ CPL Online
Total
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available $895.00
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-12-02 22:00 EST+1100

I originally went with the Silverstone SG05 but have moved to the Coolermaster + Corsair to save a few bucks (on case and not having to buy a slimline optical drive) and upgrade the 750Ti I originally had to the 760.

Thoughts?

Comments