add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Do I even need a CPU Cooler for my build?

budmonster

62 months ago

Dumb question but I'm new to building PC. Someone told me over on Reddit that a CPU Cooler isn't necessary for my build, that it's a waste of the of $30?

Parts list: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/budmonster/saved/DRZqqs

Does my build need it? I'd love to save the $30 yet I don't want to be too cheap and need it later on?

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 2 points

You do not need it.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

that's a locked cpu, the stock one is ok.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

Not to be pedantic, but you do indeed need a CPU cooler. You DON'T need to buy a separate one. The CPU you are getting has one included.

• 62 months ago
  • 2 points

a valid point in case he didn't realize the CPU includes a stock cooler, which is all you need when running at stock speed.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

It thermal paste/compound needed? I bought that at first but returned it as well b/c I was told it wasnt needed?

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

it's pre-applied to the contact area on the cooler.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

The Intel retail cpus come with everything you need, just install it and your good

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point