add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First ever build, any improvements?

NYCowboy

62 months ago

So as the title says, I've never done this before. It's been and will continue to be updated as I get more suggestions from you guys and from friends. I've tried to keep this as cheap as possible while maintaining fair quality for playing games like LOL and a few steam games(nothing too extreme). I'd like this to last me a while with just updating parts if I feel the need as well, so please keep that in mind.

Here's the list: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/NYCowboy/saved/ZX9RsY Current(with only one of the RAMs being used): PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4440 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor $169.99 @ Amazon
Motherboard ASRock H97M Anniversary Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $71.98 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $59.99 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory $68.00 @ Newegg
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $52.49 @ OutletPC
Video Card EVGA GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card $140.00
Case Enermax ECA3253-BW ATX Mid Tower Case $34.99 @ Newegg
Power Supply Corsair Builder 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply $44.99 @ Micro Center
Total
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available $642.43
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-12-16 19:00 EST-0500

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 2 points

I would get faster ram. I mean, its practically the same price: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/gskill-memory-f314900cl9d8gbxl