add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First time build - midrange gaming rig

Retributor

62 months ago

Hey all! This is my first time building a pc, and I am trying to put together a rig with some decent gaming capability, but nothing extreme (finding the sweetspot on the price/output curve is something I've been trying to do).

Budget is fairly flexible, but ideally the build would be kept relatively simple for a first timer. Hence I haven't really been looking into overclocking, for example.

This noob would definitely appreciate any thoughts you might happen to have!

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor $219.48 @ Newegg Canada
Motherboard ASRock H97 PRO4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $93.98 @ Newegg Canada
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $79.98 @ Newegg Canada
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $179.00 @ Canada Computers
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $57.98 @ DirectCanada
Video Card Asus Radeon R9 290 4GB DirectCU II Video Card $269.99 @ NCIX
Case Corsair 400R ATX Mid Tower Case $108.98 @ DirectCanada
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply $69.99 @ NCIX
Optical Drive Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer $18.95 @ Vuugo
Total
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available $1098.33
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-12-12 17:51 EST-0500

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point