add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

1st Gaming PC build, need opinions on the parts.

AtlYT

62 months ago

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/gyd3dC Already bought the CPU, motherboard, RAM, and OS. Tell me your thoughts on the rest. I think I've picked the parts really well. This is my first build, and i'm only 14, so please point out what would be a better option for a cheaper price. Thanks for checking it out. The budget is 1,000-1100.

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

If you are not planning for SLI the PSU is over kill 650 watts will be enough .

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

thanks

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

Solid build overall, nothing that really needs to be changed.

My only piece of advice or suggestion is that the Caviar Blue is a decent drive but if you want games to load faster and your PC to feel more responsive overall (including mind-blowing boot time), ditch the Caviar and grab an SSD like this one... http://pcpartpicker.com/part/crucial-internal-hard-drive-ct240m500ssd1

You can always add a 1TB drive later to use for pics/movies/music/docs/game files and keep that SSD for just OS and applications. That's pretty much the standard setup these days.

I would say that your 750W PSU is overkill but you may have plans to SLI that GTX970. That one is cheaper than some of the others with smaller wattage anyhow so just stick with it.

If swapping out the hard drive has you too close to budget, you can always pick a cheaper case unless you're partial to that one.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point