add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Gaming/HTPC for around US$1200 - First Build

anthonydnewell

62 months ago

PCPartPicker part list: http://nz.pcpartpicker.com/p/dnHvmG

I'm trying to put together a HTPC for the TV that can be used for gaming instead of buying a PS4. Just a few things I'm not sure on (as this is my first time building a computer).

1. I choose the CPU because it was low wattage (less heat/noise). Am i losing much in the way of performance when i chuck a game on?

2. Is the GPU suitable?

3. Should I go for one 8GB stick of ram and upgrade to 16GB in the future or is 2x4GB sweet?

I will be picking up a xbox controller and probably a logitech harmony remote too.

Any help is appreciated as i'm stepping into the unknown with this.

PCPartPicker part list: http://nz.pcpartpicker.com/p/dnHvmG Price breakdown by merchant: http://nz.pcpartpicker.com/p/dnHvmG/by_merchant/