add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Opinions On My One Grand Rig?

hc364712

62 months ago

I'm not very experienced but I will probably use this computer for casual gaming, internet browsing, and working on music production. Thoughts? I'm on kind of a tight budget so anything from $800 to $1200 will probably work.

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/hc364712/saved/7GN2FT

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point
  • The PSU is pretty overkilled. You should at least downgrade it to a 600 watt or 500 watt power supply.

• For the stuff you do, you might not need 16 GB of ram, either 8 gb or 12 GB will work fine.

• It is a full tower, meaning it will be giant, and I don't know why you put a microATX motherboard in there. Maybe price?

seems good otherwise!

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

Good component selection but the CPU seems "weak" especially for production.

Some questions:

Do you need a Bluray drive ( I don't know if you'll be frequently writing on disks)?

Are you sure that the Sound card is plentiful?

Do you greatly value the looks of the peripherals and case?

Do you plan to CrossFire in the future?

You probably already have a 1TB+ HDD but I wouldn't rely on only an SSD for any type of production. You'd run out of space for documents pretty quickly.

The A10 is probably weak for a workstation when alternatives such as the 8320 or an i5/Xeon exist.

The PSU is absolute overkill unless you plan to Crossfire those Cards in the future.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price