add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

New First Time Build! (need opinions on set-up)

Kingtheodorus

62 months ago

HI!

This is my first time PC build, here is the set up i am currently looking at getting. Any thoughts or opinions on it? I will primarily be using this computer for gaming such as BF4, LoL, Far Cry's Etc (on ultra settings hopefully) as well as recording some of these game plays.

Thanks in advance!!

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core

Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+

Memory: Kingston Savage 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600

Storage: Western Digital Se 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM (SSD possibly added in the future)

Video Card : Asus Radeon R9 270X 2GB DirectCU II

Power Supply: Corsair 600W ATX12V

Case: Corsair 300r windowed (already own)

http://nz.pcpartpicker.com/user/Kingtheodorus/saved/ZK2BD3

Comments

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point

Hi, I noticed that you selected the fx-6300 Is there any particular reeason for this? I would suggest the i3 4150 though it is entirely up to you. The reason though is that the intel draws less power and produces less heat. Though if you can't get it I see no problem with the cpu you have selected though you might want an aftermarket cooler E.G hyper 212 evo if you plan on overclocking that cpu.

• 62 months ago
  • 1 point