add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First time builder, GTX 970, ~1000€

D0L4NDUKE

61 months ago

Hey everyone,

My name is Flo, 24 yrs old and living in Austria. I'm quite new to the PC-building world, so I want to get as many tips, critics and opinions on my build as possible. I have done a lot of research over the last 2 months, and the idea to build my own PC grew stronger as I discovered the thrill that lies in building it on your own, choosing everthing by yourself. I have been gaming for about 2 years now (mainly FPS), but on a laptop, which is not the best experience overall :).

So first of all, here is my built so far:

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/D0L4NDUKE/saved/gTjbt6

I havent bought anything yet, as I still want to get a lot of opinions on it, and I'm kinda hoping that prices will drop now that christmas is over.

I have chosen the GTX970, as I got a lot of recommendations for it and as I can play most games, that are out right now, on high settings, perhaps even in 2 years. I won't buy it from MSI though (as it is in my list), but have laid my eyes on the phantom version from Gainward (which is not in the list here on pcpartpicker). That is also why I will take the Asrock Z97 Extreme4 motherboard, and not the extreme3 one, cause I need 3 PCIe slots for it. A for the other parts, I have gone mostly with the customer ratings in online shops and some internet research.. as i said, i'm very new to everything and have to learn it all by myself.