add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Gaming PC on a $500 budget

Sniktch

61 months ago

This is my first attempt at putting together a decent gaming rig on a modest budget - I need to stay as close to $500 as possible... my last tower is 6 years old and not up to the task any longer; I basically need to upgrade almost the whole thing. I received some Christmas funds to work with, so I'm giving the old PC to my young children, getting rid of the 10 year old Dell in the playroom, and building a new machine for Mom & Dad to play with. :)

Feedback is welcome - I'm hoping to get the best bang for my $$ as possible - this tower needs to make it the next 5 - 6 years if possible. I'm familiar with the innards of a PC, but this will be the first time I build one completely from scratch.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/PK6jsY

Comments

• 61 months ago
  • 1 point

10/10 would bang.

• 61 months ago
  • 1 point

It looks pretty good, but without Mail-in-rebates, it costs 561,81 dollars, so it actually cost more then a few dollars over 500.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor $89.99 @ Newegg
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 Micro ATX AM3+ Motherboard $44.99 @ SuperBiiz
Memory A-Data XPG V1.0 4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $34.99 @ Newegg
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $49.88 @ OutletPC
Video Card PowerColor Radeon R9 280 3GB TurboDuo Video Card $149.99 @ Newegg
Case NZXT Source 210 Elite (White) ATX Mid Tower Case $41.99 @ SuperBiiz