add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Good $900 dollar build?

GeraldG

61 months ago

I would like to know if everything is adequate, i think i should upgrade graphics card, people have given me some options but, i would like to keep total build under 900 us dollars. since this is my first build im wondering if GPU can hold me off for a while since i will be using this for modest gaming. Please help i am very new at this. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

Here is the build: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/GeraldG/saved/TnWypg

Comments

• 61 months ago
  • 1 point

Same price, WAY better graphics card. Unless you need that much storage space, I'd choose a 240GB SSD within budget for now and add a larger one later. SSD's help with application loading and makes your system more responsive overall.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor $189.99 @ Amazon
Motherboard MSI H97 Guard-Pro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $114.40 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $64.99 @ Newegg
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $52.99 @ Amazon
Video Card Gigabyte Radeon R9 280 3GB WINDFORCE Video Card $174.99 @ Newegg
Case Apevia X-Trooper (Black/Green) ATX Mid Tower Case $88.46 @ Newegg
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply $67.42 @ Newegg
Optical Drive Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer $20.39 @ OutletPC
Operating System Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) $98.72 @ OutletPC
Total