add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First Gaming Rig, would love input

samrock67

61 months ago

Hey all, complete noob here. I'm by no means a hardcore gamer, I've spent my life playing mostly sports games that would run on mid-tier laptops, and only over the last 2-3 years have I started to dabble in RPGs(Diablo 3, mostly). That being said, I will be building my first desktop and would like to build a capable one. I don't NEED to be able to max out every game at 1080, but if I can build a system that can for the right price, I'll do it. The only game to currently consider at this point in time is Far Cry 4- I will be getting it in a couple of weeks and would love to be able to play it at max settings. Other than that, this system is going to be light years ahead of anything I've ever had before. Here's what I've put together:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor $239.99 @ Newegg
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler $28.75 @ OutletPC
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $139.79 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $64.99 @ Newegg
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $104.99 @ Amazon
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $49.88 @ OutletPC
Video Card Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB WINDFORCE 3X Video Card $329.99 @ Newegg
Case Corsair 500R Black ATX Mid Tower Case $79.99 @ Newegg
Power Supply Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply $49.99 @ NCIX US