add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First build ever editing/gaming!

notagoodbuilder

61 months ago

Hello everyone, this is my first time building a pc. I want a build that is awesome for mostly video editing but also some gaming. I have watched tutorials online on how to put a computer together and its pretty nerve wrecking especially when you're spending a lot of money. I don't want anything to go wrong so any tips would be helpful! Since this is my first time building do you think I should just buy from a pre built site like origin/ironside pcs or save a lot of money and hope I don't make a mistake and fry anything and not have warrantys? I am a complete noob when it comes to this stuff. halp.

I will be doing a lot of after effects/3d modeling/color grading(da vinci resolve).

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/zFP2ZL

Comments

• 61 months ago
  • 1 point

You don't need a 980. A 970 will suffice.

Also, you only have 500GB of SSD. I would reccommend some sort of hard drive.

Don't get prebuilts. They're overpriced and you actually spend more money on the components then if you spent it yourself.

A good cooler is the Swiftech H220-X or H240 is one that I reccomend. It's pricey (around $150) but is a very good liquid cooler. If you're afraid of leaks than a Noctua Nh-D14 will suffice.

Hope this helps!

• 61 months ago
  • 1 point

Thanks for the help!!

I'm going with the 980 because I will be filming in 4k sometime soon.

I have a 1 terabyte hdd from an old machine that I'm going to use. The 500gb samsung ssd is just for os/programs.