add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Seeking help in choosing a motherboard

angelbel
  • 64 months ago

I can't seem to make a decision when it comes to choosing a motherboard. I've been watching and reading countless reviews, I've narrowed it down to a few: Asus Z97 Pro, MSI Z97 Gaming 7, or Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H. I'm open to suggestions on other motherboards as well. Here's my potential build if that helps: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/BQKBWZ Its going to be a gaming build and my first build, needless to say I'm a complete noob lol

Comments

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

Since all uses the same chipset, select according to features provided.

• 64 months ago
  • 1 point

Any of those are good. But if you decide to go with Gigabyte, I suggest the sort of "up-rated" version of that same board, which for some reason is selling cheaper from Amazon and NewEgg, although it was originally supposed to be a bit MORE expensive. (NewEgg starts at $10 lower base price, plus an additional $20 rebate just now -- down to $145, vs. $175 for your current selection.) To be clear -- it's really just the same board all around, except this version has black heat sinks instead of the gold, and it's got some hours of stress-testing done, that's supposed to certify it for high-reliability. That latter is kind of a gimmick, maybe? But you can't argue with the fact that it seems a good deal -- SUPPOSEDLY higher-reliability rated, but selling for cheaper.

http://pcpartpicker.com/part/gigabyte-motherboard-gaz97xud5hbk