add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Can I at least Run Minecraft if Not Anything Else?!

Faizan

51 months ago

Hey guys, I'm a first time builder here and had to go with a mid-range build, but with a lot of upgradability options. I know the GTX 960 isn't the strongest card, but like I said, this build was built for upgradability.

My question is: How well would my build run Minecraft? I would appreciate it if anybody could tell me how well Minecraft would run on this build under the following conditions:

• Everything on ultra settings
  • Using a custom skin
  • Use of texture packs would be scarce; maybe one here or there if I like it; normal Minecraft look 99.99% of the time
  • Use of mods like Hexxit, etc.; just for fun
  • Use of shaders not necessary; lighting affects included in-game and in different mod packs is good enough
  • Use of the latest version of OptiFine mod; this would be in use every second of every time I play unless another mod is being used ( obviously since you can't use two mods at once)

PC Specs:

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor $222.75 @ OutletPC
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $89.98 @ OutletPC
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory $66.78 @ Amazon
Storage Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $69.98 @ OutletPC
Video Card Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 2GB Video Card $209.99 @ Amazon
Case NZXT S340 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case $79.98 @ Newegg
Power Supply XFX XTR 550W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply $66.98 @ Newegg