add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Windows 8.1 Full?

ulycar11
  • 63 months ago

So I wanted to stick with Windows 8.1 and I couldn't decide between the OEM or retail version. Once you install OEM you can't reinstall it on another computer right? And on Windows 8.1 full you can transfer the license on to a new pc right? After uninstalling Windows off your old one? Im new to this so any tjingnisn helpful Thank You. P.s written on phone so you might find typos

Comments

• 63 months ago
  • 1 point

Once you install OEM you can't reinstall it on another computer right?

Correct.

And on Windows 8.1 full you can transfer the license on to a new pc right? After uninstalling Windows off your old one?

Correct.

• 63 months ago
  • 1 point

Thank You!

• 63 months ago
  • 1 point

Another thing to add. It's the Product key, not the OS itself that you cannot use on another computer if using a OEM kit.

• 63 months ago
  • 1 point

All ya need to do is go to Control Panel/System and Security/System and at the bottom press Activate windows.

When you put in your product key it may or may not work,if it doesn't just call in like ya had to when ya ran out of installs with windows 7 after the 3 or 4 times ya can install before ya had to call in. When the recording asks how many computers you installed the OS just say One. Which is the truth.