add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Enough cooling??? (AMD 8 core 8350)

krowboy

58 months ago

I'm relatively new to PC building ( just putting this out there to start ), this is actually my first solo build! I was chatting with friends who can agree that the AMD 8 core 8350 is a really good CPU, but... I am not so sure I can cool it properly. It has a tendency to overheat if not given enough airflow, I think that is correct. SO, I am not quite sure if my evo 212's will be enough needed flow. Would it be worth upgrading the fan? more fans? or water cooling all together? I am on a budget, but 20$ wont kill me, 50 or more... maybe... ( for reference this is my build list! )

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/krowboy/saved/

I would really appreciate ANY and ALL feedback! (also would the case have enough flow/space to support any extra items)

Thanks, -krow

Comments

• 58 months ago
  • 4 points

Here's my take on your build. Switched the AMD CPU for an Intel and the NVidia GPU for an AMD. Got rid of aftermarket cooler because it's a locked, lowish TDP CPU. Also changed PSU to something of better quality.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-4440 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor $173.95 @ SuperBiiz
Motherboard ASRock H97 Anniversary ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $71.99 @ SuperBiiz
Memory G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory $53.10 @ Newegg
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $52.49 @ OutletPC
Video Card Gigabyte Radeon R9 285 2GB WINDFORCE 2X Video Card $189.99 @ Amazon