add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Input on case airflow in my H440 setup

athalus

54 months ago

Hello Pcpartpicker community,

I would love to have your input on how I should configure my cooling on my rig I am building.

I am new to PC building so any input would be great.

The build:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor

CPU Cooler: NZXT Kraken X61 106.1 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G1.SNIPER Z97 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard

Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory

Storage: Samsung 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive

Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 980 4GB STRIX Video Card

Case: NZXT H440 (Black/Red) ATX Mid Tower Case

Power Supply: EVGA 850W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

As it is now, I am thinking of putting the radiator on the top, and considering replacing the fan it comes with in the back with a corsair AF140 or AF120 in the back of the case.

However, I am not sure on which way to have the fans going for optimal airflow. Also, is a push/pull configuration viable?

Thanks for the input.

Comments

• 54 months ago
  • 1 point

Also, is a push/pull configuration viable?

push pull is viable with thick radiators, and the X61 has a thin rad. I doubt there is an improvement with push pull configuration, so I would say no.

However, I am not sure on which way to have the fans going for optimal airflow

Front: 2x 140/3x120mm (3 x 120mm FN V2 Fans Included) INTAKE

Top: 2x 140/3x120mm EXHAUST