add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Cap FPS on games?

YoZync

55 months ago

Is there a way to cap the FPS of games so that they can't go above that certain FPS? It may sound like a noob question but that's because I am a noob. I wish to use a 60Hz IPS monitor, but I've heard that if the game played goes above 60 FPS (due to an outstanding gaming PC) there will be screen tearing and artifacts on the monitor display.

Comments

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

Vsync.

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

So if I enable Vsync, I won't have any trouble running 1080p BF4 at maybe over 60 FPS and I WONT have any problem running it on a 60Hz IPS monitor?

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

It just won't allow your FPS to go above 60FPS.

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

V-sync "sync's" the amount of FPS displayed with your monitor's refresh rate..

So a 60hz monitor will run at 60fps with V-sync enabled (if you can actually attain and keep 60fps of-course)

The problem I have is that if you can't keep a constant 60 or whatever the case maybe V-sync causes weird issues.

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

Yeah I've heard people complain about Vsync and how it screws up the display. I think I'll just go with an IPS.

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

Honestly, IPS monitors are great!

Many people can't go back after using one.

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

Yeah I really am attracted to them, but I just worry about my FPS gaming and whether it will suffer too much from input lag to the point of being unplayable :(

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point