add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

CPU cooler or no? - FX-6300

The_Hyphenator

84 months ago

I'm a first-time builder, looking to make a solid gaming rig for use in my entertainment center. I'm looking at using a FX-6300 for my CPU, and a Gigabyte Geforce GTX 650 2GB for my video card (I'd go for a 660, but I'm trying to keep my cost low, and a $200 card is just too much for me).

My question is twofold; should I consider overclocking the CPU, and if so, will I need an after-market CPU cooler, or will the stock AMD one suffice? I'm putting the rig in a Cooler Master HAF XB ATX case, to give you an idea of what the rig's overall airflow situation will be like.

Comments

• 84 months ago
  • 2 points

Well, overclocking would depend on the motherboard you are getting. What motherboard are you getting? And even if you aren't overclocking, get an aftermarket cooler. The stock one is a piece of ****, excuse my language. Here is a cooler I like: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/cooler-master-cpu-cooler-rr212e20pkr1 its the cooler master hyper 212 evo. My freind has the same cpu and this fan, and it keeps his cpu nice and cool. Its also only $35, which isn't bad considering its about 100x better than the stock cooler. There are youtube videos to help with the installation,as it can be tricky.

• 84 months ago
  • 1 point

I'm looking at a Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 for my motherboard.

• 84 months ago
  • 1 point

Now that's a nice board. Overclock yourself to your heats content, and then some.

• 84 months ago
  • 1 point